Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
judge questions and tips for cooks
elkski Offline

judge questions and tips for cooks
Hi, I've been enjoying smoked meat for 38 years. I even asked for and got a little chief smoker for my 16 bday. Also lived in Texas for ten years and spent time in with country guys.
I want to ask a question about chicken.
I'm not a fan of muffin pan chicken and have been a judge long enough to have seen that trend come and go. Thank good Ness. My question is in regards to chicken thighs that might be square but so even and perfect they look fake to me and unappealing. I score them down. When I say down I should clarify most of you experienced guys get 9's from me on appearance. Here is a team I found that is an example of not to perfect chicken. All these boxes get a nine from me but the darker red color (ie no yellow ) of that last box via a nine plus. .
https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&source=w...701jLxr4Wg

Just so you know there was an entry at the last contest that was so perfect it made these pics look like a newbie team.
I have a similar view on perfect over trimmed brisket. Leave the meat alone. Also watch the brush marks. I am ok with them but it does look obvious to us.
On the pork if course I have been around since only pulled was turned in. I enjoy the look of the new three cut boxes. But I think the pulled taste has suffered.

Another thing is watch the salt. And be careful with to much heat. Especially if there are quick trained judges. This is bland taste bud Utah. At least that is whatvi have heard from restaurant cooks and based on a few judges comments.

Team "Smoke-n-mirrors" its all in the beers.
Life is like the smell of smoking pork. stay in the downdraft and follow the sweet smell., enjoy each bite.
KCBS #9231
06-20-2014 04:09 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Larry Jacobs Offline
Life Member

RE: judge questions and tips for cooks
Dear Mr. Elkski: